a loving "no"

a loving “no”

i so, so much want the promise of what you have to offer
oh boy do i.

i also want to trust you, 
      for me to trust you, i need to feel your love in your strength

i felt your sword and your capacity for hardness
      for me to trust you, i also need to experience your equanimity 

i felt your drive and your capacity
      for me to trust you, i also need to feel your presence 

i felt your interest for ‘getting in my pants”, and appreciated your playful humor
      to trust you, i also need to feel your reverence 

so wonderfully enjoying your strength, your capacity, your drive,
your ability to make hard lines,
your capacity to “test” me….
to aggressively confront…
or to knowingly walk away….
i cherish this part of your masculine.

and with this dynamic alone, i don’t wish to play.

meanwhile the child in me 
      that feared my father, 
      so afraid of him leaving me or dismissing me,
feared standing up for what i want

i’m no longer afraid.

i cherish your strength, your hardness, your capacity.

and – for our collaboration – 
i yearn for more than that 
      more humanity
      more divinity
      more power – a power so full it can be chivalrous
      in service, rather than touting its greatness

      more soul.

if we’re to unite in vision and action,
from you
i lovingly invite nothing less
i lovingly invite

choice

0 Responses to “a loving "no"”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enjoy This Post?

Did my post contribute something to you? I'd appreciate love back in the form of dinner or help with my rent. Click Here to Donate. Thank you for the Love!

Quick Browse

RSS Quote of the Day

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS My Recent Twitters

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

All Entries Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Gail Taylor. All Rights Reserved.


