Moaning in obliteration

Thank you Tom Goddard for turning me onto this poem.

Gratefully,
Melting girl.

It doesn’t interest me if there is
one God or many Gods.
I want to know if you belong or
feel abandoned.
If you know despair or can see it in others.
I want to know if you are prepared to
live in the world
with its harsh need
to change you.
If you can look back
with firm eyes
saying, this is where I stand. I
want to know
If you know how to melt
into that fierce heat of living
falling toward the center of your longing. I
want to know
If you are willing
to live, day by day, with
the consequence of love
and the bitter
unwanted passion of your sure defeat.

I have been told, in that fierce
embrace, even
the gods speak of God.

–David Whyte

1 Response to “Moaning in obliteration”


  1. 1 Tom Goddard October 9, 2008 at 4:16 am

    You are welcome, Gail.

    Whyte’s role in my “growing a soul” project over the last 20 years has been persistent. Here’s another one, a good length to put into a blog comment:

    Enough. These few words are enough.
    If not these words, this breath.
    If not this breath, this sitting here.

    This opening to the life
    We have refused
    Again and again
    Until now.

    Until now.

    – David Whyte

    Blessings

    Tom


Leave a Reply

Thank you Love!

Thank you to the friends who help keep my content flowing. To share your love with me, please Click Here to Donate. Thank you <3

Quick Browse

RSS Quote of the Day

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS My Recent Twitters

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

All Entries Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Gail Taylor. All Rights Reserved.


