Polyamory and Powerfully Processing Pain

I met someone recently who’s totally new to Polyamory, and asking me questions about it.

One of his comments was, “I just don’t know how I’d feel about it.”

Anyway, this conversation got me thinking about so many people I’ve met over the years – how so many of us tragically choose to shut down our heart and love out of a desire to protect ourselves from possible pains.

The conversation also got me thinking about so people I know who have suffered huge losses out of a lack of skills in how to easily metabolize pain. Lost relationships, divorces, anger, accusations, belittling – it splits my heart open in heartbreak.

Egads how I love the inspiration life brings.

It occurred to me that the phenomena of dealing with pain powerfully isn’t just for polyamorous folks – relationship pain happens even if you’re monogamous. Monogamous people suffer jealousy. Monogamous people deal with spouses having attraction to others. Monogamous people get frustrated at their partner’s actions sometimes. Monogamous people worry about the longevity and stability of their relationships.

Pain, worry and discomfort can emerge in our experience no matter what our circumstances. How do we live with it in a way that is most likely to open us and the world around us into greater ease and fulfillment?

Our culture doesn’t teach this core skill, the skill of how to powerfully deal with pain.

So I got mad inspired and wrote this post:
Powerfully Processing Pain

I didn’t write it poly-specific – but it applies to the subjects of monogamy and polyamory too.

Tell me what you think of it.
Gail

0 Responses to “Polyamory and Powerfully Processing Pain”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Thank you Love!

Thank you to the friends who help keep my content flowing. To share your love with me, please Click Here to Donate. Thank you <3

Quick Browse

RSS Quote of the Day

  • Imelda Marcos
    "I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes, I had one thousand and sixty."
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS My Recent Twitters

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

All Entries Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Gail Taylor. All Rights Reserved.


