Cymatics: Sound –> Matter = Creation?

Hey y’all – How are you?

Check this out!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=stfIjObFZYU

I started getting interested in this after watching a Ted.com video on Cymatics – and how it was totally intertwining with my Nassim Harrimein contemplations …which btw is also integrating with what I’m learning about Rogue Waves (the way waves can come together to spontaneously create single, unexpected, ginormous waves….and wondering how that could be applied with sound…and how that could then become an engine/energy source…

Anyway I’m TOTALLY Intrigued by the subject of Cymatics. I also notice this happens in a 2D context (sand on a plate) – what would it look like in 3D space???

Could we learn ways to play with sound in ways that literally transform physical matter?

What do you think of all this??

Curious,
G

6 Responses to “Cymatics: Sound –> Matter = Creation?”


  1. 1 John Stuart Reid October 24, 2009 at 2:18 am

    The cymatics TED presentation was by our colleague, Evan Grant, and most of the images were supplied by our company: CymaScope.com

    Cymatics is an emergent science that’s had a strangely long gestation, the effects of sound on particulate matter having first been observed by such scientist-visionaries as DaVinci, Galileo and Faraday. Michael Faraday was a great experimentalist and worked for around 6-months on cymatics, a phenomenon he termed ‘crispations,’ yet he abandoned his work without identifying a single application. He was probably a little too early and didn’t have the benefit of elecro-mechanical exciters, instead making wooden boards vibrate by literally striking them.

    Erik Larson and I are co inventors of the CymaScope, an instrument that makes sound visible, and the number of applications so far identified cover almost every aspect of human endeavour. You mentioned 3D cymatics and that too is coming. Please check out our web site and ‘watch this space,’ as they say! John Stuart Reid

    • 2 Gail Taylor October 24, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      What a pleasure to hear from you, John. 3D cymatics! Oh I’m so intrigued! I sense powerful opportunities for us in cymatics in the same way humanity experienced huge opportunities as the Wright Brothers learned how to sail the wind. I don’t think it’s an accident that what emerges from the patterns matches nature and sacred geometry – I think we’re opening into new awareness and insight about physics that will serve humanity in revolutionary ways. Kudos to and thank you for the work you’re doing! I’ll keep an eye out for more, and please keep me in the loop if there’s some way I can support what y’all are up to! In delighted attentiveness, Gail

  2. 3 Timberwolf November 4, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Hi Gail

    I like your style. I too have a fascination for cymatics. John Stuart Reid has visited my sites where I have put together some articles that might interest you. Drop by Cymatics-Sacred Geometry-DNA and Crop Circles and 2012.

    Let me know what you think.

    Timberwolf

  3. 4 Gail Taylor November 7, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    I think the Universe is playing me – to “coincidentally” cross your site while doing Solfeggio searches.

    So instead of waiting, I’m going to your links now. See you on Facebook!

    Very curious and attentive,
    Gail

  4. 5 Gail Taylor November 7, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Oh man finding the best stuff on Timberwolf’s site!

    Great starting place: http://is.gd/4PTLu

    Wow, thank you Timberwolf!

  5. 6 Timberwolf November 9, 2009 at 4:08 am

    Hi Gail

    Glad your finding things of interest at Timberwolf HQ.

    I’ll be updating with a new post soon. My musings on Perception.

    Timberwolf


Leave a Reply

Enjoy This Post?

Did my post contribute something to you? I'd appreciate love back in the form of dinner or help with my rent. Click Here to Donate. Thank you for the Love!

Quick Browse

RSS Quote of the Day

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS My Recent Twitters

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

All Entries Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Gail Taylor. All Rights Reserved.


